Thursday, July 9, 2009


Atty. Maximo B. Dalog
BS Education 1967
Bachelors of Law 1973

Mountain Province is a landlocked province of the Philippines in the Cordillera Administrative Region in Luzon. Its capital is Bontoc and borders, clockwise from the south, Ifugao, Benguet, Ilocos Sur, Abra, Kalinga, and Isabela.

Mountain Province is the full name of the province and is sometimes incorrectly named just Mountain in some foreign references. The name is also incorrectly shortened by locals to Mt. Province, which in turn is read by native Anglophones as "Mount Province". The province is named that way because it is found in the Cordillera Central mountain range of north central Luzon.

Mountain Province was also the name of the historical province that included most of the current Cordillera provinces. This old province was established by the Americans in 1908 and was later split in 1966 into Mountain Province, Benguet, Kalinga-Apayao and Ifugao.

text from

photo from

No comments: